InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Free Forums with no limits on posts or members.

Learn More · Sign-up for Free
Welcome to Etrain - Official Elliott Yamin Forum. We hope you enjoy your visit.


You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.


Join our community!


If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:








 

 Computer, Browser, Player Notes
Sk8888
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 04:15 PM


Fanbase Liaison
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 8,543
Member No.: 283
Joined: 18-May 06



My computer just updated my version of FireFox.

Then I got an error message which said:

RealPlayer Browser Record Plugin 1.0 is not compatible with the latest FF update.

There was an option to check for a version that is compatible and there wasn't anything yet.
Top
Sk8888
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 04:16 PM


Fanbase Liaison
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 8,543
Member No.: 283
Joined: 18-May 06



Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site.

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.
Top
blossom
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 10:29 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengers
Posts: 3,997
Member No.: 4,487
Joined: 2-May 07



QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:15 PM)
My computer just updated my version of FireFox.

Then I got an error message which said:

RealPlayer Browser Record Plugin 1.0 is not compatible with the latest FF update.

There was an option to check for a version that is compatible and there wasn't anything yet.

You might wanna google how to uninstall the plugin, I've been reading after you posted, that there is no version of RealPlayer Browser Record Plugin available, that is combatible with the new version of FF.

I have only Windows Media Player installed.
Top
blossom
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 10:45 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengers
Posts: 3,997
Member No.: 4,487
Joined: 2-May 07



QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:16 PM)
Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site. 

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.

Here is the link to download the NoScript add-on for Firefox - thanks to KatfanBill, who posted the link at yes.com:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722

This post has been edited by blossom on Feb 4 2009, 10:48 PM
Top
MOMster
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 11:05 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengerc
Posts: 3,867
Member No.: 1,993
Joined: 10-June 06



QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 03:16 PM)
Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site.

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.

Do you happen to know if this works with the Mac FF browser?
Top
blossom
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 11:09 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengers
Posts: 3,997
Member No.: 4,487
Joined: 2-May 07



QUOTE (MOMster @ Feb 5 2009, 12:05 AM)
QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 03:16 PM)
Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site. 

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.

Do you happen to know if this works with the Mac FF browser?

Nancy has a Mac and she installed it - it works for her.
Top
MOMster
Posted: Feb 4 2009, 11:15 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengerc
Posts: 3,867
Member No.: 1,993
Joined: 10-June 06



QUOTE (blossom @ Feb 4 2009, 10:09 PM)
QUOTE (MOMster @ Feb 5 2009, 12:05 AM)
QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 03:16 PM)
Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site. 

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.

Do you happen to know if this works with the Mac FF browser?

Nancy has a Mac and she installed it - it works for her.

YES! (dot com)
Top
itslate
Posted: Feb 5 2009, 12:33 PM


Geek on a train
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 7,896
Member No.: 450
Joined: 18-May 06



I upgraded to IE 8 last night. One addition I've been waiting for, they now have the ability to save a favorite on the tool bar! I used google's toolbar prior to do so, (you had to right click in a search box on the site you wanted your favorite, and you wouldn't always pull up the icon, you'd have to go as far as using programing language) but this is much much easier (includes icons).

Under Favorites there is Add to favorites, ADD TO FAVORITE BAR, Add current tabs to favorites.

So now it's easy to be one click away from the etrain smile.gif


--------------------
Have you missed INTERVIEWS?
Audio & Video 2009
Top
Sk8888
Posted: Feb 5 2009, 01:17 PM


Fanbase Liaison
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 8,543
Member No.: 283
Joined: 18-May 06



QUOTE (blossom @ Feb 4 2009, 08:45 PM)
QUOTE (Sk8888 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:16 PM)
Yes.com has added tons of ads to its site. 

Member EEEEvon mentioned that they could be dealt with using a "no scripts" function in FF.

Here is the link to download the NoScript add-on for Firefox - thanks to KatfanBill, who posted the link at yes.com:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722

Thx Blossom and to Katfan!!
Top
blossom
Posted: Feb 5 2009, 01:31 PM


ETrainmaster
*

Group: Passengers
Posts: 3,997
Member No.: 4,487
Joined: 2-May 07



itslate, I always had Favorites located in my toolbar (IE6 and IE7).
Top
itslate
Posted: Feb 5 2009, 01:56 PM


Geek on a train
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 7,896
Member No.: 450
Joined: 18-May 06



QUOTE (blossom @ Feb 5 2009, 01:31 PM)
itslate, I always had Favorites located in my toolbar (IE6 and IE7).

Well unless I missed something totally rotfl01.gif, it's possible.

This is an icon added to my toolbar... not a drop down list. You can save your favorite SITE as an icon. It's at the top on your browser.

I've never seen the option "ADD TO FAVORITES BAR" before this version.

user posted image

^^^ I added etrainstation.

to clarify even more. Here is my tool bar including my google tool bar, I've used this prior to save etrain and a few more of my fav links, making them one, not two clicks away smile.gif

user posted image

eta: if you ever saw my list of favorites, pages and pages of them even in their own category folders, you'd understand why I think this is much easier than to scroll down through the many.

Oh and here's what I found online re IE8 Favs
QUOTE
The new favoruite bar at IE 8 will enable users to associate this bar expanded as a place to put and easily access all their favorite web content such as links, feeds, WebSlices and even Word, Excel and PowerPoint documents.


--------------------
Have you missed INTERVIEWS?
Audio & Video 2009
Top
itslate
Posted: Feb 10 2009, 04:00 PM


Geek on a train
*

Group: ETrain Driver
Posts: 7,896
Member No.: 450
Joined: 18-May 06



Something I'm really missing in IE8, they no longer have "personalized favorites". That was where your favorites menu bar would only show just recent favorites you used. (Clicking or holding your mouse there would open up all the others). It was an option you checked in the advanced tab in internet options. Not always a default option in IE I believe.

Now I have to scroll down through ALL my favorites (their alphabetized) to find what I'm looking for. I have 1377 links in 109 folders. Those of us with lots of favorites saved may really miss this feature. I haven't a clue why they decided to ditch this in IE8.


--------------------
Have you missed INTERVIEWS?
Audio & Video 2009
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
DealsFor.me - The best sales, coupons, and discounts for you

Topic Options



Google
Search the Web Search etrainstation.com
Visitor Counter:

Hosted for free by InvisionFree* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.1411 seconds | Archive